[Envious]

As much as I wish my classroom looked like one of those Pinterest classrooms, it is totally the opposite and I’m okay with that.  My borders and paper are no where close to the chevron themes nor are my plastic drawers labeled with cutsie fonts and vibrant stickers. Check out that Buzzfeed link. Who is responsible for such beautifully designed and organized rooms? Can someone help a sister out?  Despite my lack of interior design and stellar organization, I’m super proud of last week’s attempt to get organized.

OMG! Do these classrooms really exist? C'mon Buzzfeed...Show me some real classrooms. http://www.buzzfeed.com/peggy/30-epic-examples-of-inspirational-classroom-decor

OMG! Do these classrooms really exist? C’mon Buzzfeed…Show me some real classrooms. http://www.buzzfeed.com/peggy/30-epic-examples-of-inspirational-classroom-decor

I purchased a Scholastic File Folder Pocket Chart for $14.99 on Amazon and it has been the best $15 I’ve spent in a long time. I’ve added this pocket chart at the front of my room next to my focus wall to store my rubrics and other laminated tools for students. I’ve printed and laminated a class set of rubrics, accountable stems, question stems, and homework tic-tac-toe boards that are accessible to students at all times.

Initially, I stapled the ends of manilla folders to store these rubrics on the ledge of my unused chalkboard and I taped a couple of these folders to the wall with my favorite Illini duck tape. There was easy access, but sometimes they would fall over or I would accidentally move and/or misplace the makeshift envelope right when I needed the rubrics the most. (Being departmentalized without having passing periods can totally mess with a teacher’s organization.)

It feels awesome to have all of my laminated goodies nicely organized in one spot, but I understand my road to a more organized classroom is definitely a work in progress. Don’t get me wrong, my learning community does not resemble Dorothy’s post tornado Kansas, but I recognize there is a need for improvement. I’m turning to some of my favorite teacher blogs for support.

http://clutterfreeclassroom.blogspot.com/p/classroom-setup-and-design.html

http://clutterfreeclassroom.blogspot.com/search/label/storage

http://www.theorganizedclassroomblog.com/index.php/blog/concealing-the-clutter

Wish me luck,

Ms. G

Leave a Reply

